Dead Man’s Town

Various Artists

Record Details

Lightning Rod Records - Dead Man's Town


  1. Born In The U.S.A. -:-- / 3:32
  2. Cover Me -:-- / 4:11
  3. Darlington County -:-- / 4:51
  4. Working On The Highway -:-- / 3:06
  5. Downbound Train -:-- / 4:06
  6. I’m On Fire -:-- / 3:02
  7. No Surrender -:-- / 4:20
  8. Bobby Jean -:-- / 3:38
  9. I’m Goin Down -:-- / 3:40
  10. Glory Days -:-- / 3:30
  11. Dancing In The Dark -:-- / 4:55
  12. My Hometown -:-- / 4:41

From Amazon:
2014 marks the 30th anniversary of Bruce Springsteens – Born In The U.S.A. Although it would become his biggest selling album with seven top 10 singles on the Billboard Hot 100, Luther Dickinson of North Mississippi Allstars says – any of those songs could be played with acoustic guitar alone and still be great.

Taking this idea as its premise, Dead Mans Town: A Tribute to Born in the U.S.A. strips the albums twelve indelible originals to the core, with contributions from Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires, Low, Nicole Atkins, Justin Townes Earle, Blitzen Trapper, Joe Pug, Trampled by Turtles, and more.

Rolling Stone premiered Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires Dave Cobb-produced cover of “Born In The U.S.A,” saying these artists are reimagining Born in the U.S.A. … with a reduced approach more influenced by that of the acoustic Nebraska.

Isbell says of his cover, “‘Born In The U.S.A.’ is one of my favorites because so many people have seemingly misunderstood the lyrical content and the songs overall tone. When you listen to the demo, the dark, minor key arrangement makes it clear that this is not strictly a song of celebration. We wanted to stay true to that version.”

Amanda Shires adds, -“I love that the song paints a picture of struggle in the face of the American dream, and the irony in the chorus is delivered with such force that it nearly transcends irony altogether.”